Schools’ Art Competition 2012

Schools’ Art Competition 2012

Back to home page ……

A total of 476 works were submitted from schools in Kanturk, Kilbrin, Banteer, Castlemagner and Lismire. The overall winner was selected from four category winners. All works submitted are exhibited at the Schools’ Street Exhibition.

The Adjudicator this year commented that “the number of entries submitted, has more or less stabilised, but I am happy to say that the breadth of quality has improved yet again”. The full report can be accessed from the link below.

Click here to see the the Adjudicator’s Report 2012 (PDF, 883kb).

Overall Winner 20121

‘Dreaming (Destructive Dreaming)’ by Siobhán Gillies


(see links below also for Especially Commended Works)

Category A Winner

2nd and 3rd Class, Primary

Liam Fitzmaurice, 2nd Class, Ballyhass N.S. (Un-named)


Especially Commended Works by:

(click here for Images of Category A Especially Commended Works)

Shauna O’Connor, Lismire N.S.
Hollie Linehan, Convent Primary School
Ronan McCrory, Kilbrin N.S.

Very Highly Commended Works by:

Cillian O’Sullivan, Ballyhass N.S.
Aileen O’Mahony Convent Primary School
Grace Fogarty-Kennedy. Ballyhass N.S.
Tristan Finnegan, Ballyhass N.S.
Joachim O’Driscoll, Ballyhass N.S.
Mirren O’Leary, Kilbrin N.S.
Sean McMahon, Kilbrin N.S.
Jessica Buckley, Kilbrin N.S.
Hollie O’Sullivan, Kilbrin N.S.
Adam Corbett, Kilbrin N.S.
Erik Martins-Bitri, Ballyhass N.S.

Aine Martin, Convent Primary School
David Heffernan, Kilbrin N.S

Clodagh Hogan. Convent Girls School

Category B Winner

4th, 5th and 6th Classes, Primary

Eoghan Boyce, St. Colman’s Boys N.S., Kanturk – ‘My Dream Bird’


Especially Commended Works by:

(click here for Images of Category B Especially Commended Works)

Vivienne O’Keeffe, Girls N.S
Eve McAuliffe, Girls N.S.
Nicole Scannell, Banteer N.S.

Very Highly Commended Works by:
Eoin Geaney, St. Colman’s Boys N.S.
Kuba, Ballyhass N.S.
Holly Massey, Ballyhass N.S.
Alan Walsh, St. Colman’s Boys N.S.
Dylan O’Connor, St. Colman’s Boys N.S.
Chelsey Carroll, Girls N.S.
Lucziano, St. Colman’s Boys N.S.
Gintare Óraiwtaité, Convent Primary School
Roisín Foley, Banteer N.S.
Conor Prendiville, Ballyhass N.S.
Nicola Collins, Lismire N.S.
Leona Murphy, Kanturk Girls N.S.
Jesse McAuliffe, Ballyhass N.S.
Sarah O’Keeffe, Lismire N.S
Jessica Noonan, Girls N.S.

Category C Winner

1st, 2nd and 3rd Years, Post-Primary

Rachel O’Sullivan, Scoil Mhuire, Kanturk – ‘Walking on Air’


Especially Commended Works by:

(click here for Images of Category C Especially Commended Works)
Nadine Lyons, Coláiste Treasa
Isabella Gryglewicz, Coláiste Treasa
Mantas Orantas, Scoil Mhuire

Very Highly Commended Works by:
Fiona Gillespie, Scoil Mhuire
Conor Mannix, Scoil Mhuire
Bart Murphy, Scoil Mhuire
Evan O’Sullivan, Scoil Mhuire
Lianne Daly, Scoil Mhuire
Katie O’Donoghue, Scoil Mhuire


Category D Winner: (and overall winner)

5th and Transition Years

Siobhán Gillies, Scoil Mhuire, Kanturk – ‘Dreaming (Destrictive Dreaming)’


Especially Commended Works by:

(click here for Images of Category D Especially Commended Works)


Áine Singleton, Coláiste Treasa

Dara Meehan, Scoil Mhuire

Orla Kelleher, Coláiste Treasa